In 1945 it purchased the assets of Prairie Power Company Limited and in 1947 purchased the assets of Canadian Utilities Limited in Saskatchewan. It absorbed into its system the assets in Saskatchewan of Dominion Electric Power Limited, which for a time had been operated by the Commission as a wholly owned subsidiary.

The main functions of the Saskatchewan Power Corporation are the generation, transmission, distribution, sale and supply of electric energy and steam. It is also authorized to produce or purchase, and to transmit, distribute, sell and supply natural or manufactured gas, but as yet has not exercised its powers in relation to gas.

Particulars of the operations of the Saskatchewan Power Commission from 1929 to 1948 and of the operations of the Saskatchewan Power Corporation during 1949 are given in the 1951 Year Book and earlier editions.

At the end of 1951, the Corporation owned and operated 8,757 miles of transmission line and distribution systems at 537 urban centres. It also owned and operated steam-generating plants at Estevan, North Battleford, Prince Albert and Saskatoon with a total installed capacity of 76,950 kw., and diesel-generating plants at Assiniboia, Biggar, Canora, Davidson, Hudson Bay, Humboldt, Kindersley, Leader, Maple Creek, Meadow Lake, Melfort, Melville, Moosomin, Nipawin, Shaunavon, Shellbrook, Swift Current, Tisdale, Unity, Watrous, Wynyard and Yorkton, with a total installed capacity of 30,053 h.p. During 1950 and 1951, the Corporation purchased blocks of power from the City of Regina and the National Light and Power Company Limited, Moose Jaw. During the same years the Corporation sold electric energy in bulk to the Cities of North Battleford, Saskatoon and Swift Current, and to the Town of Battleford. The number of customers served by these municipalities was 21,223 at the end of 1951. All the other urban centres on the Corporation's system were supplied on a retail basis, the number of customers so served by the Corporation being 72,700. At the end of 1951, the Corporation purchased the distribution system owned by the City of North Battleford and now supplies that city and its inhabitants on a retail basis.

In 1950 and 1951 the Corporation installed additional capacity in its steam and diesel plants, and constructed a large mileage of transmission lines. The main additions to plant capacity were the installation of a 15,000-kw. turbo-generator in the Estevan plant, and a 1,200-h.p. gas-diesel unit in the Unity plant. The 69,000volt lines constructed were: Prince Albert-Beatty-Melfort-Tisdale; Beatty-Watrous; Tisdale-Nipawin; and one line of 33,000 volts (Saskatoon-Perdue-Biggar-Rosetown) was built. The principal 24,000-volt lines constructed were: Montmartre-Kipling; Melville-Kelliher; Trossachs-Ogema-Bengough-Viceroy; Tisdale-Weeks; Plato-Kyle; Willow Bunch-Rockglen-Coronach; and Dodsland-Herschel.

The Power Corporation has continued its program of rural electrification under the provisions of the Rural Electrification Act 1949 as amended. The number of rural customers supplied by the Corporation was 2,608 at the end of 1949, 4,600 at the end of 1950, and 7,600 at the end of 1951.

The Cities of Regina and Weyburn, as well as certain towns and villages, own and operate their own municipal plants and distribution systems. In Moose Jaw and in a number of small towns and villages, local plants and distribution systems are owned and operated by private companies or individuals.